Haller winner gives Ivory Coast victory in Afcon final

1 week ago 20

By Rob StevensBBC Sport Africa

Last updated on 4 minutes ago.From the section Football

Sebastien Haller scores for Ivory Coast against Nigeria in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations finalSebastien Haller (left) had also scored the winner for Ivory Coast in their semi-final win over DR Congo

Sebastien Haller was the hero for Ivory Coast again as the Elephants came from behind to beat Nigeria and win the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations final on home soil.

The striker, who had also netted the semi-final winner just 13 months on from his return from testicular cancer, flicked in Simon Adingra's cross with the toe of his boot with nine minutes remaining to complete a second-half comeback and spark wild celebrations in Abidjan.

William Troost-Ekong had put Nigeria ahead seven minutes before the end of a cagey first half when the centre-back rose highest to powerfully head in from nine yards out following a corner.

Franck Kessie nodded in the equaliser in the 62nd minute when he was left unmarked at the back post from Adingra's corner.

After a remarkable run to the final, which included the departure of coach Jean-Louis Gasset after two defeats in the group stage, the Ivorians clinched a third continental title with a deserved victory.

The West Africans add to their previous Nations Cup wins in 1992 and 2015 and become the first tournament hosts to triumph since Egypt lifted the trophy in 2006.

Interim coach Emerse Fae masterminded Ivory Coast's passage through the knockout stages, which included dramatic victories over defending champions Senegal and Mali after late equalisers in both games.

Nigeria, three-time continental champions themselves, had previously been unbeaten at the finals, including a 1-0 win over the Ivorians in the group stage, but the Super Eagles rarely imposed themselves after sitting back for most of the contest.

More to follow.



Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 23NwabaliBooked at 53mins
  • 6Ajayi
  • 5Troost-Ekong
  • 21Bassey
  • 2AinaBooked at 90mins
  • 8OnyekaSubstituted forMoffiat 86'minutes
  • 17IwobiSubstituted forYusufat 79'minutes
  • 3SanusiSubstituted forAriboat 86'minutes
  • 11ChukwuezeSubstituted forSimonat 56'minutes
  • 18LookmanSubstituted forIheanachoat 79'minutes
  • 9Osimhen


  • 1Uzoho
  • 4Yusuf
  • 7Musa
  • 10Aribo
  • 12Osayi-Samuel
  • 14Iheanacho
  • 15Simon
  • 19Onuachu
  • 20Awaziem
  • 22Omeruo
  • 24Moffi
  • 25Onyedika

Ivory Coast

Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Fofana
  • 17AurierBooked at 54minsSubstituted forSingoat 70'minutes
  • 7Kossounou
  • 21NdickaBooked at 90mins
  • 3Konan
  • 8Kessié
  • 4SeriSubstituted forAmaniat 90+2'minutes
  • 6FofanaBooked at 87minsSubstituted forSangaréat 88'minutes
  • 15GradelSubstituted forDiakitéat 70'minutes
  • 22HallerSubstituted forKrassoat 88'minutes
  • 24Adingra


  • 2Diomande
  • 5Singo
  • 9Bamba
  • 11Krasso
  • 13Boga
  • 14Diakité
  • 18Sangaré
  • 19Pépé
  • 20Kouamé
  • 23Sangaré
  • 26Diallo
  • 27Amani

Live Text

  1. Match ends, Nigeria 1, Côte d'Ivoire 2.

  2. Second Half ends, Nigeria 1, Côte d'Ivoire 2.

  3. Evan Ndicka (Côte d'Ivoire) is shown the yellow card.

  4. Ibrahim Sangaré (Côte d'Ivoire) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

  5. Foul by Terem Moffi (Nigeria).

  6. Attempt missed. Alhassan Yusuf (Nigeria) right footed shot from outside the box misses to the left following a set piece situation.

  7. Foul by Oumar Diakité (Côte d'Ivoire).

  8. Calvin Bassey (Nigeria) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

  9. Attempt missed. Wilfried Singo (Côte d'Ivoire) left footed shot from outside the box misses to the left. Assisted by Ibrahim Sangaré.

  10. Foul by Oumar Diakité (Côte d'Ivoire).

  11. Ola Aina (Nigeria) wins a free kick on the left wing.

  12. Substitution, Côte d'Ivoire. Lazare Amani replaces Jean Seri.

  13. Ola Aina (Nigeria) is shown the yellow card for a bad foul.

  14. Simon Adingra (Côte d'Ivoire) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

  15. Foul by Ola Aina (Nigeria).

  16. Attempt blocked. Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria) left footed shot from the centre of the box is blocked. Assisted by Joe Aribo.

  17. Foul by Jean-Philippe Krasso (Côte d'Ivoire).

  18. Calvin Bassey (Nigeria) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

  19. Substitution, Côte d'Ivoire. Ibrahim Sangaré replaces Seko Fofana because of an injury.

  20. Substitution, Côte d'Ivoire. Jean-Philippe Krasso replaces Sébastien Haller.

Read Entire Article